My eBid
Upgrade to Seller+ Lifetime
eBid Help
Close
Login to Your Account
eBid Community Forums - Chat & find help from others in the eBid Community

Thread: First Edition Books

Default First Edition Books

I am brand new to ebid and am interested in buying and selling new edition books. However, your book section appears to be a mixture of all types of books. Would it not be better to separate them. Incidentally, the book section appears unused. I could find only 1 bidder this morning and I trawled through quite a few pages. Thanks for your time !

Nakhon Ratchasima Thailand (Not Singapore), Singapore, United Kingdom
    View gazlannathai's Feedback (+796)
    All-About gazlannathai
    View gazlannathai's Listings
    Forum Posts

Hi and welcome

Too many sellers on here use Buy Now pricing (because it's fee to use) and that instantly closes each auction that gets a Buy Now bid - thus only the true AUCTION sellers will have listings showing bids.

Unfortunately this also rubs off on the buyers as they start ignoring auctions without a Buy Now price.

Probably best to think of eBid as a classified adverts site with attached forums pretending to be an auction site.

I have long maintained that only auction-only listings should be free and that Buy Now is an option that should have a nominal charge - even if it's only one penny.

Visible bids attract more bids, and the over-use of Buy Now is suppressing activity on the site, as well as hiding the real activity levels.

Smile First Editions

I agree - The excitement is in the bidding - As a relatively new site you will learn as you go along. However, I am impressed with the overall set up - you have quite a few positives over e-bay and I am sure this will augur well for your future!

Default Buy now

Quote Originally Posted by gazlannathai
    Hi and welcome