eBid Community Forums - Chat & find help from others in the eBid Community
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bid on item that seems to be fake

Forum Newbie
    All-About danbaldwin
    View danbaldwin's Listings
    Forum Posts

Default Bid on item that seems to be fake

The seller is demanding payment but is not answering questions about the item. I did not mean to bid on the item and thought I was getting more info before purchasing but ended up somehow bidding. The seller also has no feedback and has a sketchy sounding name. Anyone know how I can resolve this without potentially giving my paypal account info to what seems to be a scammer?

I've been using ebay for 14 years and have never a similar situation. This situation is why I've avoided sites like this one in the past and will strictly do so in the future.

View bluejypsy's Feedback (+618)
    All-About bluejypsy
    View bluejypsy's Listings
    Forum Posts

Firstly I would have made sure I had asked all my questions and been happy with the answers before bidding.
    Secondly I do not understand how if you have been on auction sites previously, you would assume to receive more information after you place your bid.
    Thirdly If you felt uncomfortable with the lack of feedback or the sellers name why did you bid in the first place?
    Finally, and most importantly I have no idea what you mean by the statement, "sites like this one". It seems to me that you have just joined and changed your mind over your purchase but want someone else to be at fault. Why try to soil the name of eBid?
    Politely ask the seller to release you from the contract you have entered into and see what happens. If they say they won't then there is nothing on earth to force you into completing the purchase. The worst that can happen is that they will give you negative feedback but if you have made up your mind already to "avoid sites like this one" then that won't be any loss.