Upgrade to Seller+ Lifetime
eBid Help
Close
Login to Your Account
eBid Community Forums - Chat & find help from others in the eBid Community

Thread: simple computer advice needed please

Default simple computer advice needed please

Hi guys
    I am having a few minor problems ( I am a total computer novice)

1. What is my browsers http proxy?

2. How do I increase my computers memory? Can I just plug something into one of the usb ports? or will it involve taking the back off and tinkering about with a screwdriver!

I know this is basic stuff but any help you could give would be much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by buttercream View Post
    2. How do I increase my computers memory? Can I just plug something into one of the usb ports? or will it involve taking the back off and tinkering about with a screwdriver!
    In short, don't try it. If you need to increase the spec of your PC get some advice from someone local to you who can physically see your unit.

Installing more memory will depend on various factors such as motherboard type, what you already have installed, the maximum your machine will accept, the type/s it will work with, the rest of the spec of machine (sometimes it's better just to get a whole new machine) and so on - and yes, it does involve opening the case. So you really need to find someone who can look inside for you and give you some advice.

On the other hand, if you have a complete print out of exactly what is inside your machine from when you bought it, and you haven't had anything changed since then, then someone here may be able to help if you post a copy.

Thanks Damian. I will try to get some local help.
    Could you tell me how I find out what my browsers http proxy is please? I have tried to find out via my windows xp help pages, but can't find any answers there.

buttercream